10 Appointments, 12 Days, 1 Tired Me.

So much has happened lately, and I’m not really sure where I left off. In the past week and a half I have had close to ten appointments. Everything from two with the therapist, to about three doctor appointments, two dietitian appointments, two other doctor appointments.

I can remember a time where I never went to the doctor. I would go very very rarely, and typically only when they needed a “current physical” for something I was doing.

The last time I met with N, the dietitian, I felt that she didn’t really care if I came back or not. Well, I came back. We focused on three aspects; food, exercise and the lax. For the food we talked about what worked, what didn’t etc. I told her I was still working on yogurt, but no Clif bars, so then she helped me decide on other bars, or just granola in baggies. N expressed how proud of me she was because I realized I can’t just wait, that I can’t mix foods and how I get discouraged and mad at myself when these feelings should be directed to the ED.

I told her that it was probably just an excuse or cop out, but that I had this mindset and thought that, “Maybe recovery just isn’t for me.” She kinda chuckled and said that wasn’t only perfectly normal, but predictable.

Then came the exercise. I told her I acknowledge that I need a healthy balance between working out and food. Once or twice she asked, “What can I do to help?”   If you have ever been in that position, you really aren’t sure how to answer. I thought for a moment and told her I thought guidelines would be good for me. I told her that there was so much that was triggering, from seeing people run on campus to others talk about their diets and weight loss. So, I was put on a “no more than 3 miles a day” remedy, and if I get antsy, which she knew I would, I am allowed to do weights or abs, but for no longer than a half hour. At first she started by saying six miles every other day, but quickly realized I’d abuse that by “forgetting” or “losing track” of the days.

The next day I had a doctor appointment that lasted two hours, followed by an appointment with S later that day. I showed up at the doctor on campus, same office as the dietitian, and even the receptionist and nurses there know my name- sheesh. So, got weighed, blood pressure sitting, blood pressure standing, etc. Then I waited for K to come in. When she did we talked about the appointment with N, talked about taking it easy for the run I’m doing next week. We talked about antidepressants again, and I said ok. She advised me it would get worse before it gets better and to be prepared, and to maybe even tell my family I’m going to see, just in case. The phone rang and pulled K from the room, she came back and said, “I’m going to be very very honest with you. That phone call was about you. It was S?”  “Oh, shit….yeah.”  She had called to I guess get more information about how I was doing and to talk about inpatient. I said I didn’t have the time, money, I’m not sick, etc. She brought me back the antidepressants after calling S back, and had me sit on the table. She listened to my heart and expressed concern that my heart rate was getting low and even mentioned hospitalization if it got any lower. So, that was that. Then came my appointment with S. She has done so much from calling numerous places, to referring me to the dietitian, to researching, it means a lot to me that she put in so much time and effort.

We talked about N and K, she brought up inpatient-AGAIN and the antidepressants. She gave me the same warning that “They will take a few days, so don’t get discouraged and stick with it.” I feel like S had a lot to say this time. S said that all of the places she called were concerned and thought I needed help sooner than later. She told me a story about a girl who was supposed to go to treatment then something happened, she had to be hospitalized before she was even allowed to go. S said I would be really pissed if I had to be force fed some gross hospital food, and not be allowed to run period, plus the nurses would hate me because I wouldn’t eat it. She told me that if I am still waiting for an “Oh shit moment”, it is going to end up being a big one, like breaking a leg or my heart, and no inpatient place will want to take me if I’m not healthy.

I am fairly certain that I was told a line of bullshit by both of the two that day:

That A) my heart rate was slower

and B) I was told that I’m borderline not “healthy” enough to go

S told me that she had called one other place, closer than the others, and that they had a waiting list, but could take me mid December. She said that I was put on the list, and she gave them my number.

On the way home from my appointment my phone rang…..

7 thoughts on “10 Appointments, 12 Days, 1 Tired Me.

  1. I know it’s hard to believe, but I don’t think it’s bullshit. I think it was probably the truth. One of the really bad parts of ED’s (in my opinion) is the way they trick our brains into feeling good, so even when our bodies aren’t healthy, we think we feel fine, okay, and no problem. There are a lot of times I wonder if my therapist is just saying something, using some shrink trick to make me talk, make me trust her. I’m that suspicious of people, but really, most people aren’t like that. They don’t just lie to get their way. I’m really proud of you for sticking with this, for going back to N. You’re working to get better. It takes time. It’s hard. Maybe inpatient is part of that, to keep you safe. I don’t know. But try to listen to your team with an open mind, if you can. I know it’s hard. You are doing really great. xx

    1. Yeah. I mean I am an athlete, so my heart is going to be a little slower. I do feel fine. I think it just kinda clicked when I heard “hospital”. I really don’t want to end up there, being fed white bread, rice, cake, etc.

      1. Oh no, you don’t want to end up there! I’m glad it is clicking for you, and that you are showing up. I really believe that in the beginning, our job is just to show up and try to follow the plans put in place by our treatment team.

  2. I think one of my favorite little moments with N was when we were done covering so much we went back over the list to make sure I’d remember the food plans, exercise plans, etc
    Me: “Ok, spoonfuls of yogurt, granola in baggies, but not together. No mixing food. Soy milk in coffee.”
    N: “Great! So are we good with food?”
    Me: “Obviously not since I’m sitting in here.”
    We both started to laugh.

  3. Those two lines, A and B…I was told those exact same things a few weeks before I went inpatient… I was in the same position as you it seems like. Unwilling to give up exercise. Hardly able to stomach anything more that my outpatient team recommended. Each week my doctor told me my heart rate was lower. I didn’t believe him. At some point, I thought okay, it’s low, but not THAT low. The last appointment I had with him before treatment, he told me I could be admitted to a hospital right then and there. I felt perfectly fine. I know you don’t want to hear this, and may not even believe it, but I’m sure your team is right. They have no reason to lie to you, nothing to gain. I’ve been where you are.

    1. True. I just have so many fears about going. You’re right though, I still feel totally fine, and I’m stuck between knowing that this isn’t healthy, but still thinking I’m not sick. I am still able to run and go to class.

      1. I totally understand. I was scared to go too. But I think that ultimately it sounds like it would be beneficial for you and that you’ll probably end up there at some point. I was able to do those things as well. Our bodies are truly amazing with how much they can put up with!

Leave a Reply

