Anorexia is not just “not eating”.

Oh. My. Freaking. Gosh. Yes. Thank. You!!!

breaking seams

“I wasn’t strong enough to have an eating disorder…I tried to go anorexic for a good three hours. I ate ice and celery, but that’s not even anorexic. And I quit. I was like, ‘Ma, can you make me a sandwich? Like, immediately.” -Meghan Trainor

Yes, this is real life. Read the full article here.

A few comments:

  1. Anorexia is not just “not eating”.
  2. You don’t just “GO” anorexic. It’s not a trend you can pick up and leave behind when you’re ready. It’s not that simple.
  3. Eating disorders are not about strength and willpower.

Let’s elaborate, shall we?

Anorexia, just like any other eating disorder, is a substance abuse disorder. What does that mean exactly? It’s categorized in the same boat as alcoholism and drug addiction. You can think of it similarly: IT’S AN ADDICTION. What substance are we abusing? Food (or the lack thereof). Sure, I might…

View original post 437 more words

Leave a Reply

